Turning food waste into a challenge!

There is nothing I enjoy more than hitting my local farmer’s market on Sunday afternoons. The variety and abundance of home-grown, fresh vegetables is a site to behold. All the market stalls and the crates of seasonal apples, potatoes, winter greens, squash and pumpkins have me dreaming up some new comfort food recipes that make me feel all warm inside – even when it is cold and dreary.

Sometimes, however, my excitement can have unintended consequences. I will bring home so much veg that my fridge is overflowing and I end up not getting through it all before it goes all wilty. Though I am sure the foxes in my neighbourhood would love to help me eat up all the surplus –  my neighbours have made it very clear I am not to leave food out for them.

What’s a girl to do? Until I can get a kitchen composter going, I sometimes find myself stuck and in the terrible position of wasting some lovely, nutritious veg.

Enter, ReCycle London’s Food Waste Challenge! Having signed up this week I pledge to find ways to use up all this great food and leave nothing for the bin! Getting creative in the kitchen, I’ll use that extra courgette to bake a cake for my co-workers and all the root veg can be blended up into a yummy sauce for pasta.

The challenge has set me on a mission and really made me think about how I can be less wasteful in this era of scarce resources and over-consumption. I feel lucky to be able to take part in this inspirational campaign and hope I can inspire others to challenge themselves as well.

For more information: http://www.recycleforlondon.com/content/love-food-hate-waste-food-waste-challenge

Facebook: www.facebook.com/recycleforlondon  Twitter: @Recycle_London

Check out this recipe and see what ideas it may inspire in you!

Courgette Bread Recipe

Serves: 2 loaves

Courgette bread

Courgette bread

Ingredients

  • 6 tbsp ground flax seeds
  • ½ c warm water
  • 2 c turbinado sugar (or light brown sugar)
  • ½ c oil
  • ½ c applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 to 2½ c grated courgette (~3 medium-sized ones)
  • 2 c all-purpose flour
  • 1 c whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 c chocolate chips or raisins, optional

Instructions

  1. Grease two loaf pans.
  2. Mix together flax seeds and warm water.
  3. Add sugar, oil, applesauce, and vanilla; beat well.
  4. Add grated courgette; stir till combined.
  5. In a separate bowl, sift together remaining dry ingredients.
  6. Add dry mixture to wet and stir just until dry ingredients are moistened and everything is incorporated evenly; some lumps are fine. If adding additional mix-ins, fold them in now. Divide batter between prepared pans.
  7. Bake at 175 for 50-55 minutes, or until knife inserted in center of loaf comes out clean. Let cool a few minutes before slicing.

Check out Rubies in the Rubble a great social enterprise which trades at Borough Market & others and rescues food from being wasted and transforms it into tasty chutneys and jams.  http://www.futerra.co.uk/blog/rubies-in-the-rubble

About the Author: Camen Gupta is the Operations Manager and Head Gardener at Healthy Planet, a conservation charity headquartered in Hammersmith, London.

About Healthy Planet

Everyone can make a difference locally & globally to the health of the planet and its people. Be part of it! U.K charity 1122475

Leave a Reply

